January 17-19, 2018
Miami, Florida



Travel scholarships to the HAI Conference are one aspect of our investment in your academic and professional success. Scholarships are available for students and postdocs to fund flights, hotel, and/or registration expenses to attend 2017 HAI.

The HAI Travel Scholarships and the HAI Young Investigator Award are presented on a competitive basis.

The program has no geographic restrictions. Women and minorities are strongly encouraged to apply.

The scholarship and award application will be contained within the abstract submission form.


To be eligible for an HAI Travel Scholarship or HAI Young Investigator Award an individual must:

1.) Be the first-author of a submitted abstract; and

2.) Be currently enrolled in graduate or medical school or, if graduated, not greater than 5 years since receiving an MD, a PhD, or completing a residency training program, and.

3.) Commit to participate in the 2017 HAI conference for the entire duration of the event.


Travel Scholarships will be again offered on a limited basis to Young Investigators on the basis of a submitted abstract. The maximum amount of a student travel scholarship will be determined soon.

A student may receive no more than one (1) travel scholarship total. This scholarship is available to assist students defray their travel costs for attending the HAI meeting.

The 2017 HAI travel scholarships have been awarded to the following young investigators:

Alexandre Bejanin, Inserm-EPHE-UCBN U1077
Murat Bilgel, National Institute on Aging
Rachel Buckley, Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School
Jasmeer Chhatwal, Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School
Michelle Farrell, University of Texas at Dallas
Ryuichi Harada, Tohoku University
Patrick Lao, University of Wisconsin, Madison
Samuel Lockhart, University of California, Berkeley
Anne Maass, University of California, Berkeley
Adam Martersteck, Northwestern University
Tessa Timmers, VU University Medical Center
Melissa Wren, University College London

2017 HAI Travel Scholarship Winners


The recipient of the Human Amyloid Imaging Young Investigator Award (HAI-YIA) will be determined by a panel of judges on the basis of the overall quality of the science evident in the abstract and presentation.

Past HAI-Young Investigator Awardees are:

  • Elizabeth Mormino (2008)
  • Jitka Sojkova (2009)
  • Alex Becker (2010)
  • Patrizia Vannini (2011)
  • Manja Lehmann (2012)
  • Elena Rodriguez Vieitez (2013)
  • Sylvia Villeneuve (2014)
  • Matthew R. Brier (2015)
  • Rik Ossenkoppele (2016).
  • Jasmeer Chhatwal (2017).

2017 HAI Young Investigator Award Winner – Jasmeer Chhatwal, MD, PhD


This award is named in honor of Christopher Clark, MD, a neurologist and Alzheimer’s disease researcher who passed away in January 2012. Chris was an inspiration to the Alzheimer’s field and this award honors his memory by supporting the continuing advancement of the field.

Dr. Clark’s career was devoted to understanding Alzheimer’s disease, developing diagnostically specific markers and identifying and evaluating new therapeutic treatments, with the goals of reducing the stigma of disease and empowering individuals and their families. He held various positions including Director of Duke University Memory Disorders Clinic, Director of the Clinical Core of the University of Pennsylvania Alzheimer’s Disease Center (ADC), Memory Disorders Clinic, and as Medical Director for Avid Radiopharmaceuticals. While at Avid, he led the seminal multicenter study demonstrating the relationship between PET amyloid imaging and brain neuritic plaque pathology.


Chris is remembered for his passion for science, his love for his patients, and his deep commitment to open and friendly collaboration. All who knew him have been touched by his unwavering generosity and kindness.

Every first author and presenter is eligible for consideration for the Christopher Clark Award (unless choosing to opt-out). The winner of the award will receive a plaque and a monetary award to be used for an educational or training opportunity in the field of human amyloid imaging. The HAI’s Program Committee will evaluate all submissions against the overall scientific merit and relevance to the field of human amyloid imaging.

Previous HAI Christopher Clark Award winners are:

Milos Ikonomovic (2017), Christopher Rowe and Clifford Jack (2016), Gil Rabinovici (2015) and Victor Villemagne (2014).

HAI Clark Award Winners