Human Amyloid Imaging

January 14 - 16, 2015
Miami, Florida


  • Abstract and scholarship application submission opens:
    October 20, 2014
  • Abstract submission deadline:
    November 14, 2014
  • Travel scholarship application deadline:
    November 14, 2014
  • Presenter notification of acceptance:
    December 1, 2014
  • Travel awardee notification:
    December 1, 2014
  • Program Published:
    December 5, 2014



The recipient of the Human Amyloid Imaging Young Investigator Award (HAI-YIA) was again determined by a panel of judges on the basis of the overall quality of the science evident in the abstract and presentation.

Previous HAI-YIA awardees are Drs. Elizabeth Mormino (2008), Jitka Sojkova (2009), Alex Becker (2010), Patrizia Vannini (2011), Manja Lehmann (2012), Elena Rodriguez Vieitez (2013) and Sylvia Villeneuve (2014).

Congratulations to our HAI2015 Young Investigator Award Winner:

Matthew R. Brier, Washington University



Travel Scholarships will again be offered on a limited basis to Young Investigators on the basis of a submitted abstract. The maximum amount of a student travel scholarship will be determined soon. A student may receive no more than one (1) travel scholarship total. This scholarship is available to assist students defray their travel costs for attending the HAI meeting.

Congratulations to our HAI2015 Young Investigator Scholarship Winners:

Katarzyna Adamczuk, KU Leuven
Tiina Annus, University of Cambridge
Murat Bilgel, Johns Hopkins University
Matthew R. Brier, Washington University
Michel J. Grothe, German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases
Ryuichi Harada, Tohoku University
David C. Hsu, Harvard Medical School
Melissa E. Murray, Mayo Clinic
Jiri M.G. van Bergen, University of Zuerich
Sylvia Villeneuve, Northwestern University


To be eligible for a Travel Scholarship or Young Investigator Award an individual must be both:

  1. First-author of a submitted abstract; and
  2. Currently enrolled in graduate or medical school or, if graduated, not greater than 5 years since receiving an MD, a PhD, or completing a residency training program.
The program has no geographic restrictions. Women and minorities are strongly encouraged to apply.

The scholarship application is contained within the abstract form.


This award is named in honor of Christopher Clark, MD, a neurologist and Alzheimer’s disease researcher who passed away in January 2012.  Chris was an inspiration to the Alzheimer’s field and this award honors his memory by supporting the continuing advancement of the field.

Dr. Clark’s career was devoted to understanding Alzheimer’s disease, developing diagnostically specific markers and identifying and evaluating new therapeutic treatments, with the goals of reducing the stigma of disease and empowering individuals and their families.  He held various positions including Director of Duke University Memory Disorders Clinic, Director of the Clinical Core of the University of Pennsylvania Alzheimer's Disease Center (ADC), Memory Disorders Clinic, and as Medical Director for Avid Radiopharmaceuticals.  While at Avid, he led the seminal multicenter study demonstrating the relationship between PET amyloid imaging and brain neuritic plaque pathology. 

Chris is remembered for his passion for science, his love for his patients, and his deep commitment to open and friendly collaboration.  All who knew him have been touched by his unwavering generosity and kindness.
Every first author and presenter is eligible for consideration for the Christopher Clark Award (unless choosing to opt-out). The winner of the award will receive a plaque and a monetary award to be used for an educational or training opportunity in the field of human amyloid imaging.  The HAI’s Program Committee will evaluate all submissions against the overall scientific merit and relevance to the field of human amyloid imaging.

Congratulations to our HAI2015 Christopher Clark Award winner:

Gil Rabinovici, MD, University of California San Francisco